PRIVILEGES AND PROCEDURES COMMITTEE

(86th Meeting)

23rd September 2008

PART A

All members were present, with the exception of Deputy I.J. Gorst, from whom apologies had been received.

Connétable D.F. Gray of St. Clement - Chairman Senator M.E. Vibert Connétable K.A. Le Brun of St. Mary Deputy G.C.L. Baudains Deputy S.C. Ferguson Deputy J. Gallichan

In attendance -

M.N. de la Haye, Greffier of the States I. Clarkson, Clerk to the Privileges and Procedures Committee

Note: The Minutes of this meeting comprise Part A only.

States Members' Remuneration Review Body: reconstitution. 1240/3(73)

A1. The Committee, with reference to its Minute No. A4 of 3rd September 2008, recalled that it was progressing the reconstitution of the States Members' Remuneration Review Body (SMRRB).

The Committee was informed that applications to serve on the SMRRB had been received from the following -

Mr. Brian Bullock;

Mr. Maurice François Dubras;

Advocate Christopher Gerard Pellow Lakeman;

Mr. John Frederick Mills C.B.E.; and

Mr. Julian Rogers.

The Committee considered that all 5 applicants were eminently suitable to serve on the Body. Moreover it was pleased to note that Mr. Rogers, the previous Chairman of the SMRRB, and Mr. Bullock, a former member of the Body, had again offered to serve. Although the Committee noted that 2 of the applicants were former States Members, and that a further 2 applicants had been employed as public servants, the Committee concluded that the combined relevant experience of those persons would facilitate an even-handed and informed approach to the task of determining sufficient rates of remuneration, allowances and benefits for elected members of the States.

The Committee determined that it should recommend to the States that the 5 persons named above should be appointed as members of the States Members Remuneration Review Body for a period of 3 years.

The Greffier of the States was requested to draft a report and proposition, for subsequent approval by the Committee, giving effect to the Committee's decision.